What is CEFR? A Quick Guide for you



The six levels are numbered from zero—the lowest—to five—the highest. This number is not an absolute measure of skill; rather, it indicates how far along the scale the user of the language is.

During the last few years, many people have learned more about the importance of accent and fluency in English. Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is a set of standards and guidelines used to describe and measure language ability, knowledge and skills.

Related: Levels in CEFR

The Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR)

CEFR describes five levels of language proficiency: A1, A2, B1, B2 and C1. These levels are defined in terms of what can be achieved at each level. The definitions of each level are drawn up by a consortium of international language associations.

The CEFR is very important because it sets out clear objectives for language learners. For example , it tells them what they should be able to do at each level and how they should be able to do it so they can progress from one level to another and know where they stand along the way.

This method for learning Languages is a system that provides a standard method for grading language skills. It’s used all over Europe, and in many other countries around the world.

If you’re taking a test to see how well you can speak a foreign language, this is the system that will be used to grade you.

I think it makes much more sense to see these tests as being about fluency. They are there to see how well you can speak and understand a language after you have studied it for a certain amount of time.


31,000 lessons made according to.

30,000 lessons try it today

One thought on “What is CEFR? A Quick Guide for you

  1. Pingback: Beginner Levels Of English Pre A1 Explained

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Keep up to date with your English blogs and downloadable tips and secrets from native English Teachers

Learn More