Level C1 Of The English Language Explained  

C1 English The Level Explained By International English Standards CEFR

In the CEFR language levels explanation, you will learn what each level means, from A1 for beginners to C2 for those who have learned the language. All CEFR language levels were originally created by the Council of Europe to standardize language skills. (CEF or CEFR) was compiled by the Council of Europe to standardize the levels of language examinations in different regions. The CEFR level you get on an English language test or exam is an indicator of your language skills and you may need a CEFR certificate for work, college, school, or as a required part of your university course.

Testing Students’ Proficiency Levels

To find out their CEFR level, the best and fastest way for ELLs is to take an entrance test provided by an English language school or institute. In order to evaluate the ability of English learners and place them in the appropriate class, language schools or other institutions usually determine the level of proficiency of students, which is based on a scale from beginner to advanced (or mother tongue level).

Each student has a particular experience or previous knowledge of the English language, so it is possible to measure language proficiency using standardized levels. We analyze the various levels of English learning used to measure and describe a student’s English language proficiency, including the levels described in the widely used standard called CEFR.

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

While there are many standards for measuring and describing language proficiency, the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), used globally, provides the most widely accepted description. Although the title contains European names, this structure is used worldwide as a way to describe and compare proficiency in multiple languages from beginner to advanced.

The Common European Framework for Language Learning divides students into three main sections, which can be divided into two levels; for each level, it describes the abilities students must be able to read, listen, speak and write. One of the most commonly used English language standards in the world is the CEFR standard, which divides competencies into 3 broader levels (A, B and C) and 6 more specific levels.

The highest level on the CEFR scale is C1, which is close to the level of English proficiency of native speakers. We are reaching the highest level of CEFR and probably the goal of most foreign language learners, C2. Level A1 refers to native speakers who have a basic knowledge of the English language. At A1 English level, also known as “super beginner”, you have very limited English proficiency.

C2 speakers are likely to have been learning English for many years, practicing it regularly or even daily with native speakers. This level of English proficiency is common among adults who have been learning English for several years and practicing regularly. Level B can be an exciting and productive level for students, as increased confidence and language proficiency gives them more freedom to understand and interact with native speakers. Level B represents an intermediate language user, a person who becomes more independent in their acquisition and application of the language.

Level C represents advanced language users, those who can engage in conversations at a more advanced level. Council of Europe levels Description C2 Proficiency level The ability to deal with academic or cognitively complex material and use language successfully at a level that may be in some respects more advanced than that of the average native speaker. The six reference levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2) are widely accepted as the European standard for assessing individual language skills.

The six levels summarize the “illustrative descriptors” developed and tested by the Swiss National Research Project for the CEFR, which is described in Appendix B. A language user can develop different levels of proficiency in each of four broad areas, and to describe these, CEFR has provided a set of six common reference levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2). 

For address mapping, reference level descriptions (RLDs) for national and regional languages have been developed that provide detailed content specifications for the various CEFR levels.

Using CEFR Levels to Self-Assess

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR for short) is used by language learners to measure their language proficiency. Language learners use CEFR levels to self-assess so they can more clearly define what they need to do and what they hope to achieve in the language they are learning.

The Official Language Proficiency Test

CEFR English proficiency is an excellent tool to measure your current language skills. This guide will help you compare your skills with each level of English and estimate how long it will take to reach each level.

You can also take an official language proficiency test, such as IELTS, which will confirm your English proficiency at employers, colleges and universities. The easiest way to assess your level of English is to take a language proficiency test covering basic general areas such as reading, vocabulary and grammar. The Standardised Test is available right now on the website Learnlaughspeak.com

Thank you for reading!

This was written by me. Bryce Purnell, founder of Learn Laugh Speak.

Check out more on my Medium or send me an email if you’re ever curious about anything at all 



Sign up for our newsletter and stay up to date


6 thoughts on “Level C1 Of The English Language Explained  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Keep up to date with your English blogs and downloadable tips and secrets from native English Teachers

Learn More